Working with maps – Creating boundaries.

CODAP Forums CODAP Help Forum Working with maps – Creating boundaries.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Scott
    Participant

I have been playing with the Map Data example and love how you defined the boundaries for the different states. How was that achieved and how can I develop my own custom boundaries say for example counties in my region or countries of the world?

There does not appear to be any documentation on this, only a previous forum post  (link below) which hinted at how to plot locations as points on a map. There also does not appear to be an insinuative way in Codap to view and edit the underlying boundary data.

Uploading data with coordinates and geographic boundaries

I’m not a GIS expert, though I do understand WGS84 regards to longitude and latitude pairs. I also have an SHP file that defines the boundaries of all countries. I am able to export this to a CSV using QGIS and the MMQGIS plug in.

What do I need to do to make this data usable within Codap’s maps to form boundaries.?

• This topic was modified 5 years, 8 months ago by Andrew Scott.
    Andrew Scott
    Participant

A nice little plug in would be a tool/feature  to allow users to define a boundary on the map by making a polyline that snaps to the edges of geographical boundaries.

Bill Finzer
    Keymaster

Hello Andrew,

Your post relates to a powerful and interesting capability of CODAP, one that has been used by a number of projects.

The Map Data example pulls in state boundaries with a formula:

lookupBoundary(US_state_boundaries, state)

There are four other sets of boundaries available by these means: US_congressional_districts, US_county_boundaries, US_puma_boundaries, and country_boundaries. You can see documentation for how to do this in the formula editor under lookupBoundary as shown in the screenshot I’ve enclosed.